This is the "Home" page of the "EDP 1350: Hodges" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This is a course guide for Educational Psychology (EDP) 1350, Effective Learning, taught by Prof. Russ Hodges.
Last Updated: Dec 6, 2013 URL: http://libguides.txstate.edu/EDP1350-Hodges Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Where to Search

Use Research Databases to find articles on your topic.

 

There are many Multi-Subject Databases.

Many of the articles contain full-text, meaning that the actual article is available in the database.  

Databases contain proprietary content from a variety of scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, and more.

Some databases contain content from only one publisher, such as Elsevier or Wiley, while others have content, or index articles, from a variety of publishers.

 

Handouts

You can print out these handouts, or just print this whole guide!

 

Types of Periodicals

Scholarly journals Popular magazines
Authors Articles are written by authorities in the field Articles are usually written by professional writers or journalists
Sources Authors cite their sources in endnotes, footnotes, or bibliographies There are rarely bibliographies
Audience Aimed at scholarly readers (researchers, professors, or students) Aimed at general population
Publisher Often published by academic or association presses Published by commercial (for profit) presses
Advertisements Contains few to no advertisements Contain numerous advertisements
Peer-review? Most articles are reviewed by an author’s peers before publication to ensure high quality Rare
Article scope Journals usually have a narrow subject focus, and articles often include original research, reviews, or essays Used to inform, update, or introduce a topic to a general reader
Graphics Illustrations often consist of charts or graphs Numerous colorful illustrations and/or photographs are usually present
Language Articles use jargon of the discipline Language is geared to general population; no special knowledge is required
Examples American Journal of Botany, The Academy of Management Journal, Social Research Runner's World, Ebony, Time
 

Ask a Librarian & Research Help

http://lgimages.s3.amazonaws.com/data/imagemanager/66884/ask.jpg

You can use the Ask a Librarian
service for questions about library resources, research assignments or other information. We offer Chat, Text,
or you can also email a question to us. Turn around for email is quick, usually w/in a few hours or by the next day if sent in after 9pm.

You can also make an online or face to face appointment with a reference librarian.  Here's more information about  individual research consultations.

Terrence Edwards, Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Terrence Edwards

Contact Info
Office 215
Alkek Library
512-245-1431
866-255-3511
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip