Welcome
Use this guide to help with Alkek Library research.
You'll find information about how to find books, search for articles, and about the many services Alkek has to offer you.
Ask A Librarian
![]() |
Use the Ask a Librarian service for questions You can also make an online or face-to-face Here's more information about |
Guide to Alkek Library Floors
Here is information about what can be found on each floor of the Alkek Library:
2nd Floor
Reference Desk
- This is where you go to get help with research.
- The desk is staffed from 9:00am-8:00pm everyday but Saturday (2pm-6pm) and Sunday (1pm-8pm).
Circulation Desk
- This is where you go to check out books.
- Generally, undergraduate students are allowed to check materials out for two weeks.
- You can also check-out laptops and obtain Texshare cards here.
- This is the place you go to clear holds on your account.
Workstations and Printers
- Access Internet and Microsoft production software (Excel, Word, PowerPoint, and etc.) on all but a few of the computers.
- If you have problems printing, there is a printer help station or you can ask for help at the Reference desk.
3rd Floor
Reserve, Periodicals and Media Desk
- Print copies of reserve items (books, old tests, articles, etc.).
- There are also dvds, cds, and other types of materials like 3-D objects.
- You can check the Reserves collection to see if something is on reserve. Search by course or professor's last name.
- You can ask questions about periodicals or the media collection. The staff can also assist you with issues relating to the equipment (like the microform/fiche readers).
Newspapers, Current Magazines and Journals
- Current issues shelved alphabetically by title of periodical.
- Older issues are bound together by volume or replaced by microfilm/fiche.
Older Periodicals
- 1980-present are on the 3rd floor, if bound.
- Older than 1980 are kept in the regular collection, and can be found by their call number.
Microfilm/fiche and Readers
- Use these to look at journals on microfilm or microfiche.
- Assistance is available.
- Copies are .10/page.
KIC Scanner
- This scanner allows you to scan and then either email the document to yourself or save it to a USB drive.
4th Floor
Computer Lab
- The Computer Lab provides both PC and Macintosh hardware, with a more extensive software collection than most computers on most Library computers. Software includes Adobe Photoshop, Dreamweaver, and SPSS.
- You'll need to check in at the Computer Lab desk and leave your student ID.
Government Information/Maps/Curriculum Materials
- Alkek Library is a Federal and State depository for government documents.
- The area has lots of good stuff, like maps, and the special map printer/plotter.
- It's also where you can check out textbooks used in the Texas public schools (elementary and high school).
SLAC
- Student Learning Assistance Center provides tutoring and writing assistance.
- SLAC posts its schedule of tutors and subjects online.
Floors 5, 6, & 7
- Most of the books and other materials you can check out of the library are on these floors.
- Individual & group study rooms are also available on these floors.
- The 5th & 6th floors are designated as the "quiet floors."
InterLibrary Loan
|
|
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a Use ILLIAD, the online |
Contact & Pick-up Info: Items can be picked up at the Circulation Desk on the 2nd Please call 512.245.4893 or |
It is free to use this service. Typical turnaround for a book is 1-2 weeks. If articles are found in electronic format,requests can be sent to you via email.
TexShare
![]() |
Request a card online through this TexShare Card request form or sign up in person at the Circulation Desk.
|
My Profile |
I'm Available, Click to ChatI'm unavailable for chat, send me an email and I will get back to you soon.Contact Info Head of Reference Services Albert B. Alkek Library Texas State University-San Marcos 512-245-3893 Send Email |
Your Assignment
What's Link Source?
LinkSource checks other databases to find a copy of your article when not full-text in the database you are searching.
Sometimes you'll see this image:






Loading...
