This is the "Home" page of the "GEO 5395 & 7334: Stroup" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GEO 5395 & 7334: Stroup   Tags: dr. laura stroup, geo 5395, geo 5395/7334, geo 7334, geography  

This guide was created for students in Dr. Laura Stroup's GEO 5395 and GEO 7334.
Last Updated: Dec 10, 2013 URL: http://libguides.txstate.edu/stroup Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Use this guide to help with Alkek Library research.

 

You'll find information about how to find books, search for articles, and about the many services Alkek has to offer you.

 

Citation Managers

A citation manager is a program used to store, organize, and output citations.

Citation managers make it easy to:

  • Gather citations from databases and websites
  • Edit, organize, and search citations
  • Output citations in many formats (MLA, APA, Chicago, etc.)

Citation managers integrate seemlessly with word-processing programs for inputting in-text citations and generating the corresponding bibliographies.

A citation manager is a valuable time-saving tool for researchers and anyone writing a paper with cited references/bibliographies.

The tabs for RefWorks, Endnote Web, and Zotero provide information about three different citation managers.

 

Feedback

Your feedback on this survey will help me improve this guide for future students (and for you!).  Please don't hesitate to share comments.

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Guide to Alkek Library Floors

Here is information about what can be found on each floor of the Alkek Library:

 

2nd Floor

Second Floor Map

Reference Desk

  • This is where you go to get help with research.
  • The desk is staffed from 9:00am-9:00pm everyday but Saturday (9am-6pm) and Sunday (1pm-9pm).

Circulation Desk

  • This is where you go to check out books.  
  • Generally, graduate students are allowed to check materials out for a semester.
  • You can also check-out laptops and obtain Texshare cards here.

Workstations and Printers

  • Access Internet and Microsoft production software (Excel, Word, PowerPoint, and etc.) on all but a few of the computers.
  • If you have problems printing, there is a printer help station or you can ask for help at the Reference desk.
 

 

3rd Floor

Third Floor Map

Reserve, Periodicals and Media Desk

  • Print copies of reserve items (books, old tests, articles, etc.).
  • There are also dvds, cds, and other types of materials like 3-D objects.
  • You can check the Reserves collection to see if something is on reserve. Search by course or professor's last name.
  • You can ask questions about periodicals or the media collection.  The staff can also assist you with issues relating to the equipment (like the microform/fiche readers).

Newspapers, Current Magazines and Journals

  • Current issues shelved alphabetically by title of periodical.
  • Older issues are bound together by volume or replaced by microfilm/fiche.

Older Periodicals

  • 1980-present are on the 3rd floor, if bound.
  • Older than 1980 are kept in the regular collection, and can be found by their call number.

Microfilm/fiche and Readers

  • Use these to look at journals on microfilm or microfiche.
  • Assistance is available.
  • Copies are .10.

KIC Scanner

  • This scanner allows you to scan and then either email the document to yourself or save it to a USB drive.

4th Floor

Fourth Floor Map

Computer Lab

  • The Computer Lab provides both PC and Macintosh hardware, with a more extensive software collection than most computers on most Library computers.  Software includes Adobe Photoshop, Dreamweaver, and SPSS. 
  • You'll need to check in at the Computer Lab desk and leave your student ID.

Government Information/Maps/Curriculum Materials

  • Alkek Library is a Federal and State depository for government documents.
  • The area has lots of good stuff, like maps, and the special map printer/plotter.
  • It's also where you can check out textbooks used in the Texas public schools (elementary and high school).
 

SLAC

Floors 5, 6, & 7

  • Most of the books and other materials you can check out of the library are on these floors.
  • Individual & group study rooms are also available on these floors.
  • The 5th & 6th floors are designated as the "quiet floors." 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sarah Naper
Contact
Alkek Library, room 217
Texas State University - San Marcos
512.245.3895
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip